Canada’s Purebread Plans To Acquire Caffè Artigiano’s Cafe Business
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get kitchen staples and gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Purebread Brands has signed a letter of intent to acquire Caffè Artigiano’s café business through a proposed stock transaction valued at about C$7.7 million. If completed, the deal would give Artigiano’s owners a 49% stake in Purebread and bring the companies’ existing networks to 27 locations. Definitive agreements have not been signed, and approvals are still required.

Purebread Brands has signed a letter of intent to acquire the café business of Vancouver-based Caffè Artigiano in a proposed stock transaction valued at approximately C$7.7 million (US$5.4 million). If the deal closes, Artigiano’s owners would receive newly issued Purebread shares representing a 49% stake in the company, and the combined businesses would have 27 existing bakery and café locations.

The proposed transaction would be paid for with newly issued Purebread shares, rather than cash, according to an announcement from Purebread Brands. The 49% ownership stake for Artigiano’s owners would take effect after closing. Purebread currently operates seven bakery and café locations; the stated combined total of 27 includes existing locations under the Purebread and Artigiano names.

The acquisition is not yet final. Purebread and the sellers have signed a letter of intent, but have not signed definitive acquisition agreements. The announcement says closing depends on regulatory and stakeholder approvals, among other conditions. No closing date was provided in the source report.

Purebread Brands CEO Christian Bullock described the businesses as a fit based on their focus on craft, quality and community. He said combining them would give the company an operating and franchise network of 27 locations and a pipeline for growth. Those statements describe the company’s rationale and expectations, not confirmed outcomes of the proposed deal.

At a glance
announcementWhen: Announced October 14, 2026; proposed tr…
The developmentPurebread Brands has agreed to pursue a C$7.7 million share acquisition of Caffè Artigiano’s café business, subject to final agreements and approvals.

A Larger Shared Café Network

If completed, the transaction would give Purebread a substantial expansion beyond its seven current locations by adding Artigiano’s café business and bringing the reported network to 27 locations. The companies would retain the Purebread and Artigiano names, according to the announcement, while bringing their businesses under a common ownership structure.

The share-based structure also matters to both sides: Artigiano’s owners would become significant shareholders in Purebread, with a proposed 49% stake. That makes the deal more than a straightforward purchase of cafés. It would give the sellers a major ownership position in the combined company, although the announcement does not detail governance arrangements or how the business would be managed after closing.

For customers and staff, the immediate practical effects remain unknown. The proposal could change the scale and reach of the two brands, but no specific changes to locations, menus, employment, or operations were announced. Purebread’s stated ambition to expand into new communities is a company expectation, not a confirmed store-opening plan.

Amazon

commercial espresso machine

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the Two Brands Reached This Deal

Caffè Artigiano was founded in Vancouver in 1999, beginning with a café on Hornby Street. The company has focused on espresso drinks and coffee craftsmanship and roasts coffee at its facility in Burnaby, British Columbia. Its business has also grown beyond cafés through roasting and packaged and wholesale coffee operations.

Last year, Artigiano acquired Salt Spring Coffee, a British Columbia organic coffee company, expanding its packaged and wholesale operations. The Purebread announcement does not say whether Salt Spring Coffee is included in the proposed acquisition. It is therefore not possible to treat that coffee business as part of the deal based on the information released.

Purebread traces its origins to a bakery business launched at the Whistler Farmers’ Market. Coho Collective Kitchens acquired Purebread in 2023, and the publicly traded parent company changed its name to Purebread Brands in 2024. The proposed Artigiano transaction would be the next major expansion described in the source report.

““Artigiano is a natural fit for our family of brands, sharing the same commitment to craft, quality and community that has guided Purebread from day one.””

— Christian Bullock, CEO of Purebread Brands

Deal Terms Still Need Approval

The transaction remains at the letter-of-intent stage. Definitive acquisition agreements have not been signed, and the proposal is subject to regulatory and stakeholder approvals. The announcement does not identify the required approvals, give a timetable, or say when the parties expect to complete the process.

Several material details are also not specified. These include whether Salt Spring Coffee is included, how the businesses would be governed after closing, and whether any locations, staffing, or customer-facing operations would change. The stated C$7.7 million value and 49% ownership stake are proposed terms, not a completed transaction.

Final Agreements and Approvals

The next milestones are for Purebread and the sellers to negotiate and sign definitive acquisition agreements, then satisfy the approvals and other conditions required to close. Until those steps are completed, the proposed acquisition should not be treated as final.

Further announcements may clarify the closing timetable, the full scope of assets included, and the arrangements for running the brands together. Purebread has not provided a confirmed closing date in the announcement described by Daily Coffee News.

Key Questions

What does Purebread plan to acquire?

Purebread Brands signed a letter of intent to acquire Caffè Artigiano’s café business. The announcement does not specify whether Artigiano’s Salt Spring Coffee business is included.

How much is the proposed deal worth?

The proposed stock transaction is valued at approximately C$7.7 million (US$5.4 million). Artigiano’s sellers would receive newly issued Purebread shares, rather than a cash payment, according to the announcement.

What ownership would Artigiano’s owners receive?

If the deal closes on the proposed terms, Artigiano’s owners would hold a 49% stake in Purebread through the newly issued shares.

How many locations would the companies have together?

The announcement puts the combined existing network at 27 bakery and café locations operating under the Purebread or Artigiano names. Purebread currently operates seven locations.

Has the acquisition been completed?

No. The parties have signed a letter of intent, but not definitive acquisition agreements. The proposal still requires regulatory and stakeholder approvals, and no closing date has been announced.

Source: rss

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Eating Out [Grickle]

Search and coverage interest in “Eating Out [Grickle]” is rising, but the available source does not confirm what prompted the attention.

Best KitchenAid Stand Mixers in 2026: Top Picks & Rankings

Discover the top KitchenAid stand mixers of 2026, including the powerful 5.5-Qt Bowl-Lift, versatile Artisan Tilt-Head, and compact Classic Series, tailored for every kitchen.

Amazon deal alert Deal Alert

{“@context”:”https://schema.org”,”@type”:”Article”,”headline”:””,”description”:””,”wordCount”:

7 Best Gaming Laptop Prime Day Deals for 2026

Prime Day 2026 laptop picks include MSI, Lenovo and HP models, but final deal value depends on live pricing and stock.